Sugar Birds, Birthing Stages

Lately, when I head outside, I practice a little Lamaze breathing.

Actually, a lot of Lamaze breathing.

Because labor contractions over Sugar Birds, my debut novel, are approaching a six on a scale of ten.

Here’s why:

Cover design and layout teams are finalizing details. Marketing and publicity teams are ramping up. Trade reviews are in the works. The book is beginning to show up online.

You can even preorder it now . . . but I hear that if you wait to order until a month or two before its August 3, 2021 release, your purchase will drive up the rankings of the book on various sales lists, which will land it in more locations on seller websites.

AND . . . in the biggest event this week . . . an award-winning, top-tier audiobook narrator has the book in her hands. I’m counting the days until I can tell you more about her—and until I can share samples of both the written and audio books.

Perfect for fans of The Scent Keeper, The Snow Child and The Great Alone, Sugar Birds immerses readers in a layered, evocative, coming-of-age story set in the breathtaking natural world, where characters encounter the mending power of forgiveness and the redemption of suffering—for themselves and for those who have failed them.

Truly exciting days ahead, with so, so much more to come.

Thanks for sharing it all with me.

*******

In the meantime, here are this week’s posts. Enjoy!

Roger, heaven. Copy that.

“Thy will be done, on earth as it is in heaven.”

—Matthew 6:10

*******

Cold turtle.

“Then, at his command, it all melts. He sends his winds, and the ice thaws.”

—Psalm 147:18

*******

So. I kept my distance. Crept behind trees. Poked my long lens through branches.

They still spotted me.

“And no creature is hidden from his sight . . .”

—Hebrews 4:13

*******

Double-minded.

(Mt. Shuksan)

“Anyone who claims to be in the light but hates a brother or sister is still in the darkness.”

—1 John 2:9

*******

As every house waits.

*******

So glad you’re here.

Watching Nature, Seeing Life: Through His Creation, God Speaks

Posted by

Love the outdoors? I can take you there. Rural & wild PNW posts from a naturalist, faith writer, award-winning author. Member of Redbud Writers Guild. Debut novel—Sugar Birds—launches Aug 3, 2021.

18 thoughts on “Sugar Birds, Birthing Stages

  1. Cheryl, your writing is always alluring, the title, Sugar Birds, couldn’t be moreso. I get that anxious feeling. Just Breathe. I plan to buy, having shared Goose Ridge this month with one of my authors staying in our writer’s retreat. We had a great conversation over it. From Laura Bartnick, Capture Books. BooksforBondingHearts.com

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Dear Cheryl;
    I Can Hardly Wait . How Wonderful And Exciting For You, The Anticipation Must Be Something Else. Congratulations!
    Keep us Posted for Ordering.
    Love Joni

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I look forward to buying it and reading it. Let us know when the timing’s right to pre-order it.

    Love those eagles! We have them here in my part of Florida too. Who knew?

    Like

  4. Just ordered your book…excited to read. Have it coming to my Nook yet will most likely buy the paperback when it comes out. Check B&N, they offer it on Nook and paperback…so anxious to see your first novel. More to come?
    Love you cousin!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s